Some Skits Found While Digging In The Garage (Part One)

12 Aug

The title is pretty much the setup. I used to be in a skit group called Left of Center. We played a few bars, opened for a jazz singer…I won’t bore you with the details. It was like a hundred years ago. I was digging through the garage looking for an old Yahoo Internet Life magazine that I was in, which figures that I would be wrote up in a magazine, and it no longer publishes. I won’t bore you with why I was looking for this magazine either, but in the process of looking for this magazine, I found some old skits that the group used to perform.

(I never found the magazine.)

Side Note: While reading these, picture them being performed. It will be funnier.

Side Note 2: These are old.

Side Note 3: These will be funnier if you’re drunk. Our audience was usually drunk.

Skit Number One:

Elvis!

Announcer:  Ladies and Gentlemen…welcome to the stage by putting your hands together, and moving them back and forth…back and forth…foooooooooooooooooooor Elvis!

(Elvis walks out.)

Elvis: Thank you. Thank-you-very-much.

Interviewer: Elvis, you have been gone for so long, please tell America why you decided to come back now.

Elvis: Well, I came back on a mission, a mission to save Rock-n-Roll. Thank you. Thank-you-very-much.

Interviewer: Elvis, please tell us exactly how you plan to do that.

Elvis: Well, with the help of my new record company: Overdose Records, I have come to sing rock-n-roll the way it should be sung.  The way Elvis would have sung it, baby. By the way, I’m a little hungry. Do you have any fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches?

Interviewer: No, Elvis. I’m afraid I do not. But why don’t you sing a little for us. I’m sure America is dying to hear you sing again. (Waves audience to clap.)

Audience:  (Claps)

Elvis: Well, OK. But it’s going to be hard on an empty stomach. (Clears his throat.) Thank you. Thank-you-very-much. This first tune was originally done by (pronounces wrong) Me-tish-e-la…

Interviewer: Um, I think that’s Metallica, Elvis.

Elvis: (A little angry) Well, yeah whatever. I’m the King, baby. Ok! Remember that — the King! Thank you. Thank-you-very-much.

Interviewer:  Sorry, go ahead.

Elvis: Well, it’s called One, and I…I like it, because it reminds me of…me! I’m the one, the one King of rock-n-roll, baby! I’ll hum a few bars: (sings slow and Elvis-like.)

(singing) I can’t remember anything
If this is real or just a dream – uh huh
Hold my breath – uh as I wish for death – uh
Now the world is gone, I’m just one
Oh god help me – uh huh
 
Dun-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-uh huh
 
Darkness invisiting me
I cannot live, I cannot die
Landmine.
Hey, there goes an arm (Points to the left)
There goes a leg (Points to the right) uh-huh
Thank you. Thank-you-very-much.
 
Didcha notice I added a guitar solo like them Beavis and Butttface guys.
 
Interviewer: (adds quickly) Butthead.
 
Elvis: What did you call me?
 
interviewer: Never mind, I hear you have a duet with a famous rock star, sort of like what Frank Sinatra recently did.
 
Elvis: Why-uh-yes, with my good buddy Axl from Guns-n-Rosies. Come on out here Axl Rose and sing with me.
 

(Axl walks out. Elvis and Axl start to sway arm in arm.)

Elvis: (Singing) They say we are young, and we don’t know, won’t find out ’till we’ve grown…

Axl: Well, I don’t know, all that’s true, you’ve got me, and baby I’ve got you…

Elvis and Axl: Babe, I’ve got you babe, I’ve got you babe.

Axl: (Goes into a tirade) Come on Elvis, I’ll see you in the jungle baby! I’m gonna watch you bleed! Uh! (Axl runs off the stage.)

Elvis: Uh-huh. Thank you. Thank-you-very-much. I’m coming back, baby. Watch out!

Interviewer: Elvis, I also hear you’re putting out a spoken word record of some of your favorite poetry. Would you do a piece or two for us.

Elvis: I thought you would never ask, baby. Here is one about how hard, but rewarding life on the river can be. I dedicate it to everyone in Mississippi. (Pauses, looking very serious.)

Row…Row…Row…your boat…
Gently down the stream. (pauses)
Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…Merrily…
Life is but a dream

Thank you. Thank-you-very-much.

(Someone hands Elvis a towel.)

Interviewer: Uh, thank you Elvis. I know you must be going, you are a very busy entertainer…

Elvis: Wait, I’m not through yet. I’m a legend. I’ve got more baby…

Interviewer: I would like to thank Overdose Records and Elvis for coming here tonight…

Elvis: (Now being led off the stage) wait, here’s one more…Peas Porridge hot, Peas…uh-huh…

Interviewer: Join us again next folks, good night.

Announcer: (When everyone has left the stage) Ladies and Gentlemen…Elvis has left the building.

 

38 Responses to “Some Skits Found While Digging In The Garage (Part One)”

  1. El Guapo August 12, 2013 at 9:10 AM #

    I enjoyed that even while sober.

    But Axl showing up on stage when called?

    • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 9:28 AM #

      This was written back when Appetite for Destruction came out… Axl still gave a shit.

  2. Ruby Canoe August 12, 2013 at 10:51 AM #

    That was awesome. Thanks for the giggle. 🙂

  3. Ervin Sholpnick August 12, 2013 at 1:32 PM #

    That was good. Did you write the skits also?

    On a side note…
    I often pray that the ghost of Jimmi Hendrix will come back and hunt down Justin Bieber…

    • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 1:42 PM #

      I usually came up with the concept, and everyone wrote it together. There was usually five to six of us at any given incarnation of the group.

      • Ervin Sholpnick August 12, 2013 at 1:44 PM #

        That sounds like it would be so much fun.

      • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 1:47 PM #

        It was…really fun…and paid next to nothing. But I had a great time with some great talent.

      • Ervin Sholpnick August 12, 2013 at 1:50 PM #

        Any links to old videos on You Tube you can share with us?

      • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 2:05 PM #

        I’m going to date myself, but youtube and camera phones were not around. 😦

  4. slingshotbaby69 August 12, 2013 at 5:30 PM #

    Pretty cool dude!~ Great laugh

  5. omawarisan August 12, 2013 at 9:07 PM #

    Good stuff. Can hear E now..murrily, murrily…

    • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 9:08 PM #

      You could play Elvis if I ever got the group back together.

      • omawarisan August 12, 2013 at 9:11 PM #

        Thank you very much.

  6. night owl August 12, 2013 at 11:46 PM #

    Yahoo Internet Life magazine – now that’s a blast from the (recent) past. It’s bizarre to think that there was a print magazine about the internet.

    Now, about the skit……I guess I’m against the flow here….. I warmed to it kind of slowly, but I did like the ending a lot. And the comments. Perhaps my lack of Metallica and Guns n Roses vocabulary hampered me.

    • Christopher De Voss August 12, 2013 at 11:59 PM #

      It’s a visual thing. It’s much better performed than read…and it’s old.

      • night owl August 13, 2013 at 12:07 AM #

        Please don’t take my comments seriously. I love your writing – truly. I would have loved to see you onstage. Skits, stand up, improv – any excuse to laugh and I’m there. 🙂

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2013 at 12:10 AM #

        No, it’s OK. I was worried about publishing these because they are better seen then read.

      • night owl August 13, 2013 at 12:17 AM #

        I think you are incredibly brave to have gotten up there and put yourself on the line like that. You never have to regret not having tried.

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2013 at 12:27 AM #

        Exactly.

  7. Christa Thompson @ChristaTravels August 13, 2013 at 9:46 AM #

    That was fun. I actually have Elvis tattooes on me in 3 places… in zombie and sugar skull form. xo

  8. Christa Thompson @ChristaTravels August 13, 2013 at 9:48 AM #

    I happen to love Metallica and Guns and Roses too lmao

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2013 at 10:03 AM #

      At the time this was written, they were at the height of there careers.

  9. calahan August 13, 2013 at 7:30 PM #

    Were any of your sketch performances recorded? You should post one. 🙂

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

      No… This was before YouTube and such… Now I have dated myself.

      • calahan August 13, 2013 at 11:08 PM #

        Dating one’s self is nothing to be ashamed of. Dinner, dancing, maybe a movie, a date is a date.

      • Christopher De Voss August 14, 2013 at 12:35 AM #

        True.

  10. gingerfightback August 14, 2013 at 3:22 AM #

    Long live the King!

  11. David Stewart August 16, 2013 at 9:02 PM #

    I can just hear Elvis singing “One”. Pure awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Skits Found While Digging In The Garage (Part Two) | Christopher De Voss - August 15, 2013

    […] Part One is here. […]

  2. The Comeback King ~ The Wandering Poet | Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew ~ FoTS 18 News~ The Wandering Poet - August 20, 2013

    […] Some Skits Found While Digging In The Garage (Part One) (chrisdevoss.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Some Skits Found While Digging In The Garage (Part Three…and final…unless I find more) | Christopher De Voss - August 22, 2013

    […] Aug Part One is here. Part Two is […]

Comments are closed.