High School Reunion Unchained Pt. Two

22 Apr

At some point while in that first year of High School, I realized  High School  wasn’t really working for me.

But there was really nothing I could do about it, because…

well…

I was me.

Things changed when I met Mike. Mike was  our High School’s version of a network guy before there were really network guys in the world. He gathered together a group of us that were not really popular, but were not quite unpopular either. Guys that just liked to hang out and talk about girls and other stuff…but I forget what that other stuff was…

…because we mostly talked about girls.

I still felt awkward in my new circle of friends, but what was nice, was…I could be myself. No matter what, I wasn’t pressured to do anything I didn’t want to do, or be anyone I wasn’t.

And things started turning around. Not because I was any less of a nerd, or awkward, or girlfriendless…but I had a little more confidence.

Around this same time, I also got a job at Wendy’s…which Mike may or may not have had a hand in…I don’t remember. This particular Wendy’s had a lot of people my age working in it. I really enjoyed it, and had a lot of fun.

I remember my first day, wearing my teal and white striped 1800’s looking ice cream shirt, with my stupid flat cap, and my clean and starched apron. My first task was to clean behind the frosty machine. I really wanted to impress the manager, a really thin woman with a lesbian haircut and thick glasses. I spent my time, trying to impress her by cleaning the walls, scrubbing hard, really making it shine. Only to be told, I was taking too long and I need to speed things up…go wash the pots and pans. I did this task much faster, since I cleaned the frosty machine wall way too slow, only to be told: I need to take slow down and do a more thorough job.

The thing I most took away from that first day was:

I need to find a happy medium in the speed I work at and Lesbians confuse and fascinate me.

Which is still true to this day.

I worked there for a year and a little more.

Some other cool things that happened at Wendy’s:

1) I met Rob, who introduced me to alternative music, back before it was labled alternative music.
2) I learned that female coworkers and doing inventory in the dry storage shed led to some really fun times.
3) I found out I was really good at the job, but not in the sense that I was good at working at a Wendy’s, but that I could probably go far in any career I undertook.
4) And once again, I could be myself.

I dropped the drama group (part one reference) and took up journalism. That went much better. I have written about it before, it’s in the archives somewhere on this site, but I don’t know where. It’s not worth digging for, it basically just says: I joined journalism class, didn’t do well until they gave up and let me write what I want, then I did well, and after High School I stopped writing for a long time.

So, in case you forgot (before this got lengthy and off subject), I was debating going to my High School Reunion.

The conclusion that I have come to from all of this nonsense rambling is:

That I would rather go to a Wendy’s reunion.

32 Responses to “High School Reunion Unchained Pt. Two”

  1. David Stewart April 22, 2013 at 10:15 AM #

    I’m not sure there are any jobs I’d like to have a reunion with, except the library I worked in in university. Most other jobs I don’t want to think about again.

    • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 10:44 AM #

      It was more the people than the actual job. The only good thing I took away from Wendy’s was that warm chocolate chip cookies tastes awesome in Frosty’s.

  2. jayne April 22, 2013 at 10:38 AM #

    LOL that’s life

    • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 10:45 AM #

      c’est la vie…that’s just the way that it goes…

      • jayne April 22, 2013 at 11:21 AM #

        you could go and order a meal, hang out in the lobby and just become the wierdo customer, thereby closing the circle of transformation. Thats what I would do anyway. I think you move to the next level up when you do that…and possibly gain one more lifetime.

      • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 11:26 AM #

        I live in Florida. Everyone does that.

      • jayne April 22, 2013 at 11:29 AM #

        maybe some of them ARE your classmates!

      • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 11:34 AM #

        😉

  3. Anisa April 22, 2013 at 10:41 AM #

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a job that would inspire me to want a reunion, but I’m glad you did. 🙂

    • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 10:48 AM #

      I think it has more to do with not wanting to go to my High School Reunion as opposed to wanting to have a Wendy’s reunion. If it was a math equation it would look like this: hsr < wr / tfi*

      *tolerance for idiots

      • Anisa April 22, 2013 at 10:56 AM #

        I wish I were one of those girls who got a lady-boner for math equations… 😉

      • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 11:04 AM #

        Girls get hot for math? I did not know. I only used it for humor all these years. Damn!

      • Anisa April 22, 2013 at 11:21 AM #

        I’m sure SOME girls must!

      • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 11:33 AM #

        Like the girls on the TV show: Big Bang Theory!

        show me your boobs / probably not + buy me dinner first – (probably not) = google images instead

      • Anisa April 22, 2013 at 11:40 AM #

        If I had a nickel for every time someone tells me I look exactly like Amy Farrah Fowler I’d have at least 20 nickels.
        Google images has helped me with my latest postings…

      • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 11:41 AM #

        Awesome!

  4. Anisa April 22, 2013 at 12:59 PM #

    And I read above that you live in Florida? Hello, neighbor. 🙂

  5. ksbeth April 22, 2013 at 7:59 PM #

    how about a compromise and go to the hs reunion wearing your wendy’s gear? glad things turned around for you )

    • Christopher De Voss April 22, 2013 at 8:05 PM #

      Good idea. I wouldn’t be any nerdier than I was!

  6. mrmarymuthafuckingpoppins April 22, 2013 at 11:59 PM #

    I really liked this post . I have always been saying that i am going to check your blog out and it never happened until today. Now I got a wealth of stuff to read over the next couple of days/weeks/months. cheers from NYC

  7. Monk Monkey April 23, 2013 at 4:55 AM #

    Hahahaa! Do they still do the square burgers? We never went because they were ‘too expensive.’

  8. filledandfooled April 24, 2013 at 12:30 AM #

    My first job was at a Taco Bell and it was really fun. Good memories… And damn dude, I’m kicking myself for not being up to date on your posts, I loved this. Thank you!

    • Christopher De Voss April 24, 2013 at 7:59 AM #

      Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate you stopping by!

  9. Crazy_Lady April 24, 2013 at 8:35 PM #

    I would lke to see a picture of you in your wendy’s uniform.

    • Christopher De Voss April 24, 2013 at 11:10 PM #

      It’s so not pretty. I look like a fruit striped irish newspaper boy.

  10. The Bumble Files April 26, 2013 at 6:27 PM #

    Well, did anyone who worked at Wendy’s go to your high school? If so, that could then count as a Wendy’s reunion. Are you still debating it? I’d just go. If anything, it could make for a fascinating blog post!

Comments are closed.

