Solid Falling – Behind The Music

13 Aug

I had a friend approach me the other day and say, “Hey, I didn’t know you wrote a blog!”

“Yup, don’t call it a blog though. I hate that term. Sounds like something in a B Rated monster movie. It’s funny you just found it, considering that I post a link everyday on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and Linkin…all of which you belong too,” I reply.

“It was alright. I read half of the first section of something or other that you wrote about something with pictures or something. When did you start doing this?” my friend asks while scratching his nose the entire time.

“Well,” I begin. “It started as a Zombie book project, you know…just a place to collect stories and then sort of….”

“Got to go!” and he leaves.

A couple of days later, he comes back to me and says,

“Hey, remember that blog thing we were talking about? You know, yours?”

“Yeah, yeah. I remember my blog. Don’t call it a blog. What’s up?

He looks at me up and down several times. “Were you really in a band?”

I laugh and reply, “Sort of. It was an electronic band. It was just for fun.”

“Oh,” he says. “See ya.”

Well, since he brought it up, and obviously was so very fascinated by it, let’s briefly relive the “band” Solid Falling.

I was in broadcasting school when two of my friends; Kevin and Jason decided to record random stuff when we were bored.

We were bored a lot.

We recorded: Drills, birds, toy pianos, taping pencils, our voices, our friends voices, bits of TV Shows, anything that squeaked, random things from the internet, things falling, things bouncing, things mechanical, babies, etc.

Myself, being a computer enthusiast at the time (nerd), decided to take these random recordings and fuse them together with musical tracks. These tracks were all common license beats that you could download off the internet for free. We took these free tracks and our recorded mish mash and our electronic band was formed.

Now this was entirely for our amusement, but a couple people heard what we had laid down, and the next thing you know, I’m living in a mansion, own three boats, and have a European tour scheduled for the summer. Then I blew all my millions on nose candy, became dirt poor, and only recently have been able to survive by doing late night infomercials as a pitch man.

Nooooooo…just joking. I am not a late night infomercial pitch man.

We made two full length albums and one EP and passed them out for free to anyone who cared for one.

It was really fun. I miss those days.

I have shared three tracks below, but please be advised this is electronica, techno, trance, house style of music. It’s not for everyone. (Think: Kraftwerk, Front 242, Tangerine Dream…don’t know who those people are? You may want to take a pass on listening to the tracks below. It won’t bother me. This isn’t meant in a bad way, but I don’t care if you like it or not.)

I will say this, even though the intention was never to do anything with this but have fun…I think I may be the fore runner of dubstep!

For that, I apologize.

29 Responses to “Solid Falling – Behind The Music”

  1. Dotty Headbanger August 13, 2012 at 3:23 PM #

    Dear Chris,

    The middle one is SCARY.

    Love Dotty xxx

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

      It’s supposed to be…the title of it is: Score for Night…like creepy crawlies in the night. Turn off all the lights and play it.

      • Maggie O'C August 13, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

        Dear Chris,
        That’s such a good idea to give Dotty something to freak out about in the dark. Good call!
        Love,
        maggie

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 7:39 PM #

        I love Dotty! She will be ok. She should just keep a brick by her side. 😉

  2. workspousestory August 13, 2012 at 4:04 PM #

    Well, I know both Kraftwerk and Tangerine Dream but yeah, you guys were really hardcore 😉

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 4:10 PM #

      Hardcore idiots. It was fun. We played “band” for a little while. I should have filmed it, and made a documentry.

      • workspousestory August 13, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

        Hmm… I might need to film my band then. Not so hardcore, but idiots anyway 😉

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 6:03 PM #

        Is there a place on the internet one may be able to check out your band?

      • workspousestory August 14, 2012 at 4:17 AM #

        Not yet, but there will be, I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 4:18 PM #

    Cool video. He’s got the moves like Jagger.

    My only complaint about dubstep is that it’s music, then machines having sex, then back to music…and more songs are like that then not. I do like when they take a song, like that Foster the People song in your link, and redo it. Great workout music…if I worked out.

    • La La August 13, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

      Machines having sex is a great way to describe it… and we all have our own fetishes, I guess.

  4. Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 5:43 PM #

    Dear Chris,
    Silly soundcloud will only let me hear the last one. It was way cool!
    And, now that you’ve deemed BLOG to be a nerdy four letter word…I’m feeling completely lost for what to call IT.
    What should we call IT?
    Just wondering.
    😉
    Lis

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 5:56 PM #

      I don’t know. I will think about it, because anytime anybody asks me if I write that blog, I always hang my head, shuffle my feet, and say, “yes” under my breath. Maybe if blog was an acronym, I might like it better.

      • Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 7:58 PM #

        Dear Chris,
        This may have inspired a post.
        Can I say post?
        Or..is that also on the banned list?
        Liswinky

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 11:06 PM #

        Post works fine. Let me know what the outcome of the inspiration is if I miss it do to work schedule and what-not.

  5. Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 5:44 PM #

    Oh Wait.
    They are back.
    Hold on.

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 5:58 PM #

      Holding….

      • Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

        Dear Chris,
        I notice that you are the kind to reply to each and every comment.
        I like that.
        😉
        Lis

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM #

        I think it’s only polite. 😉 😉 😉 !!!!!

  6. Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 5:45 PM #

    Dear Chris. The middle is the BEST.
    😉
    Lis

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

      Thank you. Your winky faces are the best. 😉

      • Carr Party of Five August 13, 2012 at 7:57 PM #

        Dear Chris,
        Why thank you!
        I wink in real life, too.
        One time a guy told me it was charming. Or, at least I think that’s what he said. It coulda been…ALARMING. Not sure.
        😉
        Lis

      • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM #

        HaHa!! (why no a on Lisa?)

  7. maddiecochere August 13, 2012 at 11:11 PM #

    To Whom It May Concern: I vote number 1. 911 has been changed. The rest reminds me of noises that used to come from our basement.

    • Christopher De Voss August 13, 2012 at 11:15 PM #

      Thank you. That was the sound we were going for…it’s so nice to be understood.

  8. becca3416 August 14, 2012 at 4:52 PM #

    “for that I apologize” – You should be ashamed of yourself. No, no I only kid. I actually like some dubstep, but I like reading funny posts more.

  9. Carr Party of Five August 15, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

    Dear Chris,
    My friends hardly EVER call me Lisa.
    It’s LIS (pronounced LEASE..as in my Uncle told me to never LEASE a car…cuz it’s a rip off)
    😉
    But you can call me Lisa.
    Or Lisa Ann.
    Or Al.
    😉

Comments are closed.

