One Year Anniversary

25 Jul

The one year Anniversary of this blog…yea!

Below is sung to the tune of Bare Naked Ladies, “One Week.”

(Link below if you don’t know it.)

It’s been one year since you have been reading my blog
Cocked your head to the side and said I don’t get it
Five months since you laughed at it
Get it together, and come back read it
Three months since you clicked follow
I realized it’s all my fault, but I’ll keep trying
Yesterday you deleted me
But it’ll still be two days till I publish

Hold it now and don’t watch the TV
As I make you stop, think
You’ll think you’re looking at an idiot
I write about zombies, although they are really scary
I like to write about bigfoot, although he is hairy
All my views are simplistic
If not realistic 
Because I’m all about boobies
Some other blog’s got the mad hits
Don’t try to match wits, even though
You don’t like this.
Gonna take a picture and take some words,
And see what it unfurls
I like the poem, cuz it’s easiest of the posts
Gotta see the Facebook, ’cause then you’ll know
Cut and Paste is the way to go
Cause it’s so easy,
But you’ll have to block out the faces

How can I help if don’t think I’m funny, but mad
Tryin’ hard not to look at the stats that are bad
I’m the kind of guy who laughs at his own material
Can’t understand what I mean? Well, you never will
I have the tendancy to ask you to take off your shirt
If you don’t, it’s ok, we can still flirt

It’s been one year since you have been reading my blog
Cocked your head to the side and said I don’t get it
Five months since you laughed at it
Get it together, and come back read it
Three months since you clicked follow
I realized it’s all my fault, but I’ll keep trying
Yesterday you deleted me
But it’ll still be two days till I publish

Chickity China the Chinese chicken
Look at all the other blogs that I be readin’
There’s Dotty with her hermit on
There’s pelicanfreak
Who writes about doggies
Like a Rich Full Life
Like Devil’s Aardvark
Like Someone Fat
Like Brain Rants
Okay I read too many to name
But if I could, then this would be really long
I try to like what you wrote
Gonna find the time to read them all,
Just so much that should be freshly pressed
Gotta read them all before I get dressed
Sometimes my internet doesn’t work
So if I miss something don’t think I’m a jerk

How can I help if you don’t think I’m funny, but mad
Tryin’ hard not to look at the stats that are bad
I’m the kind of guy who laughs at his own material
Can’t understand what I mean? Well, you never will
I have the tendancy to ask you to take off your shirt
If you don’t, it’s ok, we can still flirt

It’s been one year since you followed me
Dropped your smart phones and said wtf
Five months since I made you laugh
You just thought it might be better than that
Three days since you checked your email,
I realized we were both to blame, but what could I do?
Yesterday you read me again
But I still got two days till I publish
It’ll still be two days till I publish,
It’ll still be two days till I publish…

28 Responses to “One Year Anniversary”

  1. Maggie O'C July 25, 2012 at 3:15 PM #

    Yay! I’m the first that gets to Congratulate you on one year of blogging! Bravo!! Great song and at least I can follow the words to this version.

    • Christopher De Voss July 25, 2012 at 4:00 PM #

      Thank you. This blog has lasted longer than some of my marriages.

  2. La La July 25, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    Happy 1 year! I can’t believe I sang through the whole thing.

  3. Madame Weebles July 25, 2012 at 4:18 PM #

    That’s pretty darned good (yeah, I sang them too). How long did it take to come up with those lyrics?

    • Christopher De Voss July 25, 2012 at 4:23 PM #

      Your not suppose to ask that…Let’s just say it took longer to figure out how to post the YouTube video then it did to write the lyrics. 😦

  4. Dotty Headbanger July 25, 2012 at 4:37 PM #

    Dear Chris,

    ♬ ♪ Happy Anniversary to you,
    Happy Anniversary to you,
    Happy Anniversary dear Chriiiii-iiiiis
    Happy Anniversary to you. ♬ ♪

    🙂

    Love Dotty xxx

    • Christopher De Voss July 25, 2012 at 4:46 PM #

      Wow, you have a really good voice. You should go on Hermits Got Talent.

  5. paulaacton July 25, 2012 at 5:23 PM #

    Happy anniversay and heres to many more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Christopher De Voss July 26, 2012 at 12:07 AM #

      Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I out did you in exclamation points.)

  6. laugraeva July 25, 2012 at 5:24 PM #

    Awesome song writing.
    Thank you for putting Barenaked Ladies back in my life.
    No sexual connotation intended.

    • Christopher De Voss July 25, 2012 at 11:52 PM #

      Thank you…and everyone should have some Barenaked Ladies in their life. Sexual connotation intended.

  7. RFL July 25, 2012 at 6:09 PM #

    Happy 1 year blogging anniversary! I sang the sang the whole way through too. I’d tell you take the “not funny” tag off, but it made me laugh (the post and the tag, just to clarify).

  8. David Stewart July 25, 2012 at 6:50 PM #

    Congratulations on a year in the blog trenches. Awesome way to celebrate it; I especially liked that you referenced past posts in the song. 🙂

  9. Missus Tribble July 26, 2012 at 4:24 AM #

    *snork*

    This is pure genius 😀

    • Christopher De Voss July 26, 2012 at 8:21 AM #

      Thank you. (or pure madness)

      • Missus Tribble July 26, 2012 at 9:10 AM #

        Either works for me 🙂

  10. gingerfightback July 26, 2012 at 6:12 AM #

    Congratulations – lets hear it for breasts!

  11. clownonfire July 30, 2012 at 10:03 AM #

    Christopher,
    This is not a Happy One Year comment.
    Magritte

    • Christopher De Voss July 30, 2012 at 10:39 AM #

      I’m good with that. Anniversary’s are overrated anyway. Let’s celebrate not giving up on something!

      • clownonfire July 30, 2012 at 10:41 AM #

        Christ,
        I raise my bubbly water glass to this.
        Le Clown

      • Christopher De Voss July 30, 2012 at 10:56 AM #

        Cheers!

      • clownonfire July 30, 2012 at 10:59 AM #

        Chris,
        I must say that I also appreciate the Freudian slip I had on my previous comment, referring to you as Le Christ…
        Le Clown

      • Christopher De Voss July 30, 2012 at 11:05 AM #

        It’s more like Le Devil…what’s french for devil?

      • clownonfire July 30, 2012 at 11:06 AM #

        Chris,
        Le Diable.
        Le Clown

Comments are closed.

