Orange Colored Glasses

24 May

Teenage Boy: Dad, I’ve got a great invention!

Me: What is that?

Teenage Boy: I have a friend who can’t see orange, so I’m going to make orange colored glasses. Then they can see orange.

Me: But if they can’t see orange, then those glasses are not going to work.

Teenage Boy: Yes it will. It will enhance orange.

Me: But they can’t see orange, that’s the problem. So the glasses won’t work.

Teenage Boy: It will work, because the glasses are made of orange. It will help them to see orange. They are glasses for seeing orange.

Me: They can’t see orange. That’s the problem. The orange glasses would just be regular glasses to someone who can’t see orange. Orange is the problem. It doesn’t make any sense.

Teenage Boy: It makes sense if you don’t think about it.

Me: What? What comedian did you hear that from?

Teenage Boy: I don’t know. What comedian did I hear that from?

Me: I don’t know. That is what I’m asking you!

Teenage Boy: I don’t know. You tell me what comedian I heard that from.

Me: Are you trying to Laurel and Hardy me?

Teenage Boy: What does that mean? Who’s Laurel and Hardy?

Me: They were famous comedians. They did a bit called, “Who’s on first?” What we just did there…with the comedian thing…reminded me of that bit.

Teenage Boy: What did we just do?

Me: Never mind. Hey have you heard the one about “No” and “Me Neither”?

Teenage Boy: No.

Me: Me Neither.

Dad 1
Teenager 0
 
8 Responses to “Orange Colored Glasses”

  1. Maggie O'C May 24, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    This sounds alarmingly like my sister talking to my 4 year old nephew

  2. chrisdevoss May 25, 2012 at 1:03 AM #

    I would like this more myself, except I have created mini me, and I think one day he will rise up and destroy me (humorly speaking)

  3. Rachel June 1, 2012 at 8:22 PM #

    Whoa, whoa, whoa. “Who’s on first” was Abbot and Costello, not Laurel and Hardy.

    • Christopher De Voss June 1, 2012 at 8:46 PM #

      You are right! But unfortunately I didn’t say that, so I have to keep it inaccurate.

  4. diirrty June 1, 2012 at 9:36 PM #

    it’s really nothing like abbot and costello either, except the end. and it’s not funny ūüėČ

    • Christopher De Voss June 2, 2012 at 1:14 PM #

      You must be a Dane Cook fan.

      • diirrty June 2, 2012 at 7:09 PM #

        Never heard of him, but I’m more of an Andrew Dice Clay kinda guy.

Comments are closed.

