The Zombie Circle

27 Oct

Scariest thing ever.

I was walking home from work, and I know…I shouldn’t have walked alone, but Bert picked up overtime, and Calvin called out sick…and anyway I was walking home from work when 10 or so zombies were sitting behind the old gas station…just sitting there…well they weren’t really just sitting, they were walking around in circles.

Weird how they just walk around in circles…ever notice that? When zombies aren’t attacking or being attacked they just walk circles.

Weird.

Why?

That Soul Coughing song suddenly popped into my head,

“I don’t need to walk around in circles, walk around in circles…”

Anyway, as I passed these zombies walking around in circles,  I was hoping that they did not notice me.

Then one noticed me.

And I notice it, noticing me.

And then that zombie growled, or screamed, or groaned. I don’t remember exactly what noise it made, I just remember it made a noise. Then all the other zombies made noises, and then they were all looking at me, making noises.

I didn’t make any noises.

I ran.

And I ran hard.

And the zombies chased me.

Two of the zombies were faster than the rest, because they were right on my ass. The other zombies lumbered quite a few yards away.

The two that were on my ass were gnashing their teeth, spit flying everywhere, arms flailing. All I could think of is how am I going to outlast something that never needs to rest, nor doesn’t care about anything except eating me? I didn’t feel like dying today, so I had to think of something fast.

In my head I was trying to think of what lay in front of me. There was mostly road and trees to either side of me, and that went on for about 5 miles or so. Then Virgil’s corn field for a couple of miles, then more road and more trees. I didn’t want to take the chance on the woods, they tend to be full of zombies as well, and I didn’t know where they lead to…I could end up lost until I became zombie chow.

I guess I could lose them in the corn field. It butts up to a junk yard on the other side.

I’m not in bad shape, but running is not my strong suit. I was getting pretty tired, so corn field and junk yard it was.

Really, when it boils down to it, what other choice did I have?

It was still about a mile away at this point, but I found some strength and turned up the afterburners in my legs.

Soon I made a hard right into the corn field. Thank God the two lead zombies were having trouble navigating the roots and underbrush of the field. It was actually slowing them down quite a bit.

I got a good lead on them flesh eaters.

I reached the junk yard in record time. The zombies at this point were far enough behind they couldn’t see me, but close enough that I could hear them. I searched the area in panic. A few feet in, a huge pile of cars were stacked. I climbed the stack, pulled open the door of the top car and got in…just as the two lead zombies broke through the corn.

Slowly I peered out the window of the car.

The zombies stopped at the edge of the junk yard and looked  to their right and then to their left for a few moments. Then they growled really loud, and kept growling until the other zombies appeared.

Then, the son of bitches, started walking in a circle.

Why do they walk in a circle?

Weird.

Soul Coughing’s song played in my head again and for the next two days as I hid in that car and the zombies circled the junk yard.

And circled.

And circled.

“I don’t need to walk around in circles, walk around in circles…”

And how I finally escaped is a story for another day.

