Pajama Pants Song

20 Sep

Prelude to Song #1: It’s early morning and I’m tired.

Prelude to Song #2: In order to be able to deliver the Toddler to her VPK teacher, the school makes us stand outside the side door and check the children in one by one. There really is not much organization to it. Everyday about 15 of us parents will wait for the teacher to appear sometime between 8 and 8:10 am. Instead of making friends, I instead have nicknamed the other parents in my head. They are not clever nicknames mind you. We have Green Bay Packers Jersey, Rude Spanish Grandma, Business Guy, (see I told you, not clever) Scary Karate dude, (he is Black not Asian, and doesn’t wear karate clothes, but he looks like he would spend his afternoon at the local dojo), Bluetooth Ear, and Pajama Pants. There are other parents there too, I just haven’t found the time to nick-name them yet.

Prelude to Song #5: If the others have decided to nick-named me, I would probably guess my name would be: Guy Who Doesn’t Comb Hair In The Morning.

Prelude to Song #4: The school sits right outside the neighborhood. Many people walk because it’s so close.

Prelude to Song #5: Pajama Pants, as the clever nick-name implies, always wears pajama pants.

So I’m driving the Toddler to school through the neighborhood, because I’m too lazy to walk. Not the actual walking part, the part where I have to get us up a tad bit earlier, and be more organized to get us out the door on time.

So I’m driving the Toddler to school through the neighborhood, when I pass Pajama Pants…but she is not wearing pajama pants, she is wearing jeans!

Jeans! Not pajama pants.

No pajama pants, which is a problem because her nick-name is Pajama Pants!

OK…now, I don’t know why….but I started singing (out loud):

Where is your pajama pants today, today
Where is your pajama pants today, today

Then I start laughing.

Where is your pajama pants today, today
Where is your pajama pants today, today

Suddenly, I’m thinking to myself, “What the hell are you doing?”

So I start singing (once again, out loud):

I think I’m losing it, losing it, losing it
I think I’m losing it, losing it

I look in the rear view mirror and the Toddler is just staring at me with the most disgusted look on her face.

Which then prompts me to sing:

Where is your pajama pants today, today
I think I’m losing it, losing it

“Stop,” the Toddler screams. “I hate that song!”

But I go on some more:

Where is your pajama pants today, today
I think I’m losing it, losing it
What am I doing?
I think I’m losing it, losing it
You ain’t got no pajama pants today
‘Cause they are dirty, they are dirty
Where is your pajama pants today, today

The Toddler is screaming,

“Stop Daddy, stop. I hate that song. That song is boring!”

Boring? This song is anything but boring. This song is hilarious!

Well, we get to the school, I park the car and walk to the door. We pass Pajama Pants on the way, and she gives me the most hateful look…and it’s at the moment I realize that I should be careful when singing made-up songs…about people…and driving…with the windows open!

One Response to “Pajama Pants Song”

  1. Jennifer Avventura September 20, 2011 at 8:37 AM #

    Thanks for the brilliant laughter!

Comments are closed.

