Another Day At The Drive-Thru

21 Jul

I don’t understand why they put people on the drive-thru that don’t listen. That is your entire job description is to listen. (And then to put food in a bag, and hand it to me.)

Here is how every drive-thru exchange goes for me:

“Hi,  welcome to McCheesyville. Would you like to try our new Sushi Shake? ”

Me: “No thank you. I need just one minute please. ”

“Go right ahead with your order.”

Me: “I uh, just need a minute please. ”

“Ok, let me know when you’re ready. ”

One minute later.

Me: “Ok, I’m ready.”

(Silence)

Me: “Hello, I’m ready. Anybody there?”

“Anytime you’re ready go ahead.”

Me: “Ok, I’ll have two mini fish patty nugget wraps, and an order of…”

“Hold on, I’m not ready.”

Me: “What? You just said you were.”

“Yes, go ahead.”

Me: “Ok, I’ll have two mini fish patty nugget wraps, and an order of…”

“Go slower, please.”

Me (slower): “Two mini fish patty nugget wraps, an order of onion rings, and a soda. That is all.”

“Is that all?”

I just said that was all. I hate when they ask me if that is all, when I just said that is all, thus preventing the need to ask me if that is all!

Just for that, I now usually mess with them a bit.

Me: “Um, no. Add a baby tiger butt.”

This is usually followed by brief silence.

“I’m sorry sir, what?”

Me: “Add a side of baby tiger butt, and let’s see…a gnome head. That’s all. No, super size it.”

Silence, followed by, “Is that all?”

Me: “Narnia.”

“Please pull around for your total.”

And it’s still wrong.

They forgot the baby tiger butt.

